The island of Mauritius is a 61km long and 46km wide at its widest point and has a total land area of 1.865² km. The island itself is formed around a central plateau which is about
600 meters above sea level, with about 350km of coast which is protected almost entirely by coral reefs. Around the plateau ,the original craters can still be distinguished
from several other mountains.

Parliamentary democracy within the British Commonwealth.

After a brief Dutch settlement, French immigrants who came in 1715 named the island Île de France and established the first road and harbor infrastructure, as well as the sugar industry, under the leadership of Gov. Mahe de Labourdonnais. Blacks from Africa and Madagascar came as slaves to work in the sugarcane fields. In 1810, the British captured the island and in 1814, by the Treaty of Paris, it was ceded to Great Britain along with its dependencies.
Indian immigration, which followed the abolition of slavery in 1835, rapidly changed the fabric of Mauritian society, and the country flourished with the increased cultivation of sugarcane.

The opening of the Suez Canal in 1869 heralded the decline of Mauritius as a port of call for ships rounding the southern tip of Africa, bound for South and East Asia. The economic instability of the price of sugar, the main crop, in the first half of the 20th century brought civil unrest, then economic, administrative, and political reforms. Mauritius became independent on March 12, 1968.

Accsys in Mauritius
PeopleWare Tax Tables: 
Tax Period: 
January - December
Mauritian Rupee
Creole, Bhojpuri, French
Capital City: 
Port Louis
1277460 m
1,865 km²
Syndicate content